ATU Alumna Earns National Education Award

Arkansas Tech University alumna Dr. Karen Endel received the Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development (ASCD) Vision in Action award during the organization’s 2017 national conference March 22-24 in Anaheim, Calif.

Endel serves as principal at Butterfield Trail Middle School in Van Buren. She and the leadership team at Butterfield Trail received the award in recognition of her implementation of a distributive leadership model and her school’s focus on the whole child.

A graduate of the Educational Specialist degree program through the ATU Center for Leadership and Learning, Endel taught on the Arkansas Tech graduate faculty for three years before returning to work in the public schools. She also holds a Bachelor of Music Education degree and a Master of Education degree in teaching, learning and leadership from ATU.

Endel’s husband, Rick, and their daughters, Kimberly and Kathryn, are also Tech alumni.

Photographed: Dr. Karen Endel (middle left), principal at Butterfield Trail Middle School in Van Buren, stands with her colleagues following the announcement of the 2017 ASCD Vision in Action award.

Mosaic Scholarship Benefit Set for April 28

Arkansas Tech University will host its third annual scholarship benefit dinner on Friday, April 28, at John E. Tucker Coliseum in Russellville.

The theme for the 2017 event, “Mosaic,” reflects the variety of ATU students that will be in attendance to share their academic and artistic endeavors through a collection of presentations and performances.

A reception will begin at 6 p.m. followed by dinner at 7 p.m. Tickets for the business attire occasion are $100 per person.

Seating will be limited. Valet parking will be available.

The deadline to RSVP is Friday, April 14. Sponsorship opportunities are also available.

Individuals may RSVP online at, by calling (479) 968-0400 or by visiting the Division of Advancement office in the ATU Administration Building.

Honorary co-hosts for the 2017 ATU scholarship benefit include Lori and Rob Callahan of Sherwood, Kerrie and Bruce Carothers of Russellville, Lorie and Bill Clary of Conway, Laura and Michael Keener of Fort Smith, Jennifer and Matt McCoy of Russellville, Judy Murphy of Russellville and Twana and Danny Troutt of Harrison.

DeBlack’s New Book Details History of ATU

A member of the Arkansas Tech University faculty has authored a history of the institution.

Dr. Thomas A. DeBlack, professor of history, has completed a work entitled “A Century Forward: The Centennial History of Arkansas Tech University.”

“A Century Forward” is available for purchase weekdays at the Barnes and Noble College Bookstore at ATU, which is located in the W.O. Young Building at 209 West O Street in Russellville; and the ATU Alumni House, which is located at 1313 North Arkansas Ave. in Russellville. Cost is $45 per book plus tax.

The new book tells the story of Arkansas Tech University, beginning with the events that led to its creation as the Second District Agricultural School in 1909 and continuing through its evolution to become Arkansas Polytechnic College in 1925 and Arkansas Tech University in 1976. The ending point of the book coincides with the conclusion of the presidency of Dr. Robert C. Brown in 2014.

A member of the Arkansas Tech faculty since 1995, DeBlack is a past president of the Arkansas Historical Association and the Arkansas Association of College History Teachers.

DeBlack is also an award-winning author. In 2003, he received the first Butler-Remmel Arkansas History Literary Prize for his book “With Fire and Sword: Arkansas 1861-74.” He co-authored the college-level textbook “Arkansas: A Narrative History,” which was recognized by the Arkansas Library Association with its Arkansiana Prize in 2003.

DeBlack’s areas of teaching and research emphasis are Arkansas history, the Old South, the New South, the Civil War and Reconstruction.

Collaborative Solutions Hosts Symposium

The Arkansas Tech University community learned more about climate change during a symposium hosted by Collaborative Solutions, a new interdisciplinary course.

Dr. Kathleen Miller and Casey Camp-Horinek served as keynote speakers during the symposium.

Miller is an economist at the National Center for Atmospheric Research. She studies how external factors, including climate variability and human impact, affect natural resource systems.

Camp-Horinek is a member of the Ponca Nation of Oklahoma, a native rights advocate, an environmentalist and an actress. In 2008, Camp-Horinek spoke before the United Nations on environmental issues in relation to native rights.

Dr. Caroline Hackerott, assistant professor of emergency management, is teaching the initial offering of Collaborative Solutions. The topic for the semester, climate change, was selected through a focus group of ATU students who expressed an interest in the interdisciplinary class.

Collaborative Solutions is made possible through the philanthropy of Bob Dickson, ATU Class of 1968.

Learn more about Collaborative Solutions.

Collaborative Solutions: Climate Change Symposium | 3/07/17

Womack to Speak at APSA Meetings at ATU

Congressman Steve Womack, a 1979 graduate of Arkansas Tech University, will be among the speakers when his alma mater hosts the 44th annual meetings of the Arkansas Political Science Association on March 3-4.

Womack, 60, was elected to represent Arkansas’s Third Congressional District in 2010 and currently sits on the House Appropriations and House Budget committees.

Prior to his election to Congress, Womack served as the Mayor of Rogers for 12 years and in the Arkansas Army National Guard for more than thirty years, retiring at the rank of Colonel in 2009. He was inducted into the Arkansas Tech University Hall of Distinction in 2014.

Womack and his wife of more than 30 years, Terri, reside in Rogers. They have three sons, two grandsons and a dog named Cooper.

Dr. Christopher Housenick, assistant professor of political science at ATU, is serving as program chair for the 44th annual meetings of the Arkansas Political Science Association. To learn more about the event, send e-mail to