Human Library at RPL November 15

Ross Pendergraft Library and Technology Center will host its third Arkansas Tech University Human Library from 6:30-9 p.m. on Thursday, Nov. 15.

The event will take place in Ross Pendergraft Library and Technology Center room 300B. Admission will be free and open to the public.

The Human Library Project was developed in Copenhagen, Denmark, as part of a four-day festival in 2000.

“A human library is one in which the books are humans with stories,” said Sherry Tinerella, assistant librarian at ATU. “The connecting theme is that the books’ stories revolve around the person’s experiences with prejudice, discrimination or hardships beyond their control. The purpose is to promote understanding within a diverse community. Readers, the people coming to the event, will browse the shelves and choose a book to sit down with. The book will tell their story, allowing for the reader to ask questions. It is our wish to provide a safe place for candid conversations.”

Ross Pendergraft Library and Technology Center is located at 305 West Q Street in Russellville.

For more information, visit, call (479) 964-0571 or send e-mail to

Golden Suns Legend Selected for ASHOF

Sherry Raney White, a three-time All-America selection during her basketball career at Arkansas Tech University, has been elected to the Arkansas Sports Hall of Fame (ASHOF).

She will be inducted as part of the ASHOF Class of 2019, which will be honored during a banquet at the Statehouse Convention Center in Little Rock on March 29, 2019.

White and her teammates of the late 1970s and early 1980s were responsible for creating the legend of Golden Suns basketball that endures to this day.

A product of Bruno-Pyatt High School, White enrolled at Arkansas Tech in 1978 and led the Golden Suns to four AIAW conference championships and a four-year combined overall record of 102-15 under head coach Jim Yeager.

White ranks second in school history in career scoring with 2,248 points, third in career scoring average at 19.7 points per game and tied for third in rebounds with 842. She and Anissa Pounds (2014-17) are the only four-time all-conference selections in ATU women’s basketball history.

The Suns won 20 or more games in each of White’s four seasons at Tech. It was the beginning of one of the most remarkable streaks in the history of college basketball. The Golden Suns would go on to win 20 or more games in 25 consecutive seasons from 1978-79 through 2002-03.

White pursued a career in coaching following her graduation from Arkansas Tech.

She has coached five state championship girls’ basketball teams and is currently the head girls’ basketball coach at Russellville High School. She led the Lady Cyclones to a state runner-up finish in 2015.

White will be the 23rd individual with ties to Arkansas Tech to gain induction into the Arkansas Sports Hall of Fame. The others, listed with the sport they are most associated with and the year in which they were inducted, are: John Tucker (football, 1962), Wilson Matthews (football, 1971), Raymond “Rabbit” Burnett (football, 1974), Charles “Foot” Clement (football, 1975), Eddie Meador (football, 1978), Sam Hindsman (basketball, 1981), Deward Dopson (basketball, 1982), Aubrey “Cobb” Fowler (football, 1982), Ragon Kinney (boxing, 1985), W. Howard Pearce (football, 1986), Raymond Peters (football, 1996), Firman Bynum (football, 1998), Bill Stancil (football, 1998), Clyde Horton (track and field, 2000), Joe Foley (basketball, 2002), John Widner (basketball, 2003), J.P. Lovelady (basketball, 2005), E.C. O’Neal (basketball, 2006), Kenny Saylors (basketball, 2009), Bill “Sleepy” Curtis (football, 2011), Wyn Norwood (golf, 2013) and Stephanie Strack Mathis (basketball, 2014).

In addition, the 1991-92 and 1992-93 Golden Suns NAIA national championship basketball teams entered the Arkansas Sports Hall of Fame as a group during a special banquet at Tucker Coliseum in 2016.

Helping Halls Marks 12 Years of Giving

Arkansas Tech University students donated 204 food kits to the Salvation Army in Russellville as the result of the 2018 Helping Halls program.

The project by the John Tucker Chapter of the National Residence Hall Honorary represented a gift of approximately $2,400 from Arkansas Tech students to the local community.

The food kits, which contain all the side items necessary for a traditional Thanksgiving meal, will be paired with a protein and distributed to area residents in need served by the Salvation Army of Russellville, which is led by Lt. Andrew Thorson and his wife, Lt. Shannon Thorson.

“It’s just an amazing thing (Arkansas Tech) is doing here,” said Andrew Thorson while surrounded by the donated food. “To put this together and organize it takes a little bit of stress off us, but it’s also taking a huge stress off families in the community who truly need (this food).”

Over the course of the first 12 years of Helping Halls, the program has donated approximately 3,300 holiday meals to neighbors in need.

NRHH Helping Halls Food Collection | 11/9/18

International Education Week 2018 at ATU

There are 46 countries represented by the Arkansas Tech University student body.

During the week of Nov. 12-16, ATU is celebrating the variety of cultures present on its Russellville campus with a series of International Education Week 2018 events.

The week will culminate with an international festival and talent expo in the Doc Bryan Student Services Center Lecture Hall at 6 p.m. on Friday, Nov. 16. Admission will be free and open to the public.

There are 373 international students enrolled at Arkansas Tech in fall 2018. Foreign countries represented at ATU this semester are Albania, Australia, Austria, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Benin, Canada, China, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Ethiopia, Gabon, Germany, Ghana, Guatemala, Honduras, India, Iran, Ireland, Isle of Man, Italy, Ivory Coast, Japan, Jersey, Kuwait, Mongolia, Morocco, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Solomon Islands, South Korea, Spain, Taiwan, Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago, the United Kingdom, United Arab Emirates, Venezuela, Vietnam and Zimbabwe.

International Education Week is planned and orchestrated by the ATU Office of International Student Services.

Learn more about International Education Week 2018.

2018 IEW: Fashion Show | 11/12/18

Trombone Choir Takes the Stage Tuesday

The Arkansas Tech University Trombone Choir will perform a 7:30 p.m. concert at Witherspoon Auditorium on Tuesday, Nov. 13.

Pieces scheduled for performance are “Achieved is the Glorious Work” by Joseph Haydn, “Thaxted: O God Beyond All Praising” by Thomas Zugger, “Largo” by George F. Handel, “The Magnificent Seven” by Elmer Bernstein, “Processional March” by Richard Wagner, “Vere Languores Nostros” by Tómas Luis de Victoria, “O Sacred Head” by Johann Sebastian Bach and “Olympic Fanfare” by John Williams.

Sammy Ballard, Michael Bays, Jillian Bratton, Billy Brown, Kaleb Collins, Collin Gushing, Jacob Hawkins, Holden Jones, Logan Jones, Riley Kelley, Donald McBride, Anthony Montgomery, Julie Osorto, Ian Quinn and Noah Ward are the members of the ATU Trombone Choir.

Dr. Sean Reed, associate professor of music, serves as conductor for the ensemble.

Visit to learn more about the ATU Department of Music.