Wright to Lead University Honors Program

Dr. Georgeanna Wright
Dr. Georgeanna Wright

Dr. Georgeanna Wright will serve as director of the University Honors program at Arkansas Tech University effective July 1, 2022.

Her appointment was announced by Dr. Julie Furst-Bowe, ATU interim vice president for academic affairs.

“I am grateful to Dr. Wright for her willingness to contribute to the university community by overseeing our honors program,” said Furst-Bowe. “Her passion for and commitment to student access and success will benefit the University Honors program and the students it serves.”

Wright joined the ATU faculty in 2020. She is assistant professor of health informatics and health information management as well as a graduate advisor. She holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in sociology from George Washington University, a Master of Social Science degree from the University of Mississippi and a Doctor of Health Administration degree from the University of Phoenix.

According to its web page, the ATU University Honors program is designed to “elevate the college learning experience” by building community and enhancing personal learning skills. This is achieved through small classes that seek to promote interaction among peers and between students and instructors.

Students seeking admission to the ATU University Honors program must be graduating high school seniors who have been admitted as first-time entering freshmen on the ATU campus in Russellville. Applicants must have completed high school with a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.5. In addition, applicants must have ranked in the top 10 percent of their high school graduating class and have a minimum ACT composite score of 27.

Learn more at www.atu.edu/honors.