Greenwood, Sasore, Duggan Named ATU’s Top Seniors

ATU Most Outstanding Seniors 2020
Photographed (from left-to-right): Bailey Greenwood, Abiola Sasore and Danielle Duggan.

Arkansas Tech University President Dr. Robin E. Bowen announced the winners of the institution’s top three undergraduate senior awards for 2020 on Monday, April 27.

The winners are (click on each name to read a feature story and view a photo about each honoree):

Feature stories about all three honorees will be posted on during the week of May 4.

The Margaret Young Award is presented each year to the most outstanding senior female undergraduate student at ATU.

The award is part of a rich heritage for the Young family at ATU. The Young family’s contributions are remembered through William O. Young, Margaret’s husband, who oversaw the business affairs of Arkansas Tech from 1917-42 and for whom the W. O. Young Building in named. Their son — Robert A. Young — also worked at Arkansas Tech from 1941-84 and was inducted into the Arkansas Tech Hall of Distinction in 1973. Their grandson — Dr. Robert A. Young Jr. — is past president of the ATU Foundation and an ardent supporter of the Golden Suns and Wonder Boys.

The Young family also holds a special place in Tech history as the owners of the original Jerry the Bulldog during the 1930s.

The Alfred J. Crabaugh Award is presented each year to the most outstanding senior male undergraduate student at ATU.

The award’s namesake served on the Arkansas Tech faculty from 1929-69. He is the only person in the history of the university to hold the title of academic dean, and he was a central figure in the transition of the institution to become a senior college. In May 1948, under Crabaugh’s guidance, the Arkansas Tech Board of Trustees approved a recommendation that the school should become a four-year, degree-granting institution. His efforts to build the academic reputation of Arkansas Tech truly came to fruition in March 1951 when the North Central Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools accredited the four-year program at Arkansas Tech.

Due to these and other efforts, Crabaugh is recognized as the father of the modern intellectual tradition at ATU.

The Jill Lestage Brown Service Leadership Award is presented each year to a senior undergraduate student at ATU who seeks to improve society through unselfish voluntary service to others as demonstrated by past and current leadership roles, service hours completed and participation in volunteer programs.

The award is named for the former first lady of ATU. Brown stepped down from her career as an elementary school teacher to act as a volunteer ambassador and hostess for Arkansas Tech during the presidency of her husband, Dr. Robert C. Brown, from 1993-2014.

Brown has also volunteered her time to benefit organizations such as the Russellville Area Chamber of Commerce, National Women in the Arts, the Arkansas Tech Wesley Foundation, Shelter of Sunshine, the River Valley United Way and Junior Auxiliary of Russellville.