40th Arkansas Governor’s School Begins Sunday at ATU

Arkansas Governor's School

Academically gifted students from every region of the Natural State will converge at Arkansas Tech University in Russellville for the beginning of the 40th Arkansas Governor’s School on Sunday, July 7.

Approximately 370 students will attend the four-week learning experience. Their daily class schedule will be based, in part, upon their demonstrated aptitude in one of nine areas of specialization: visual arts, choral music, instrumental music, drama, English/language arts, mathematics, natural science, social science or cybersecurity.

Those nine disciplines constitute what is defined as AGS Area I. Area II is a study of the nature of knowledge, while Area III is focused on the personal and social development of students.

The three aspects of the AGS curriculum will be imparted to the students by a faculty that includes individuals who teach at Arkansas Tech University, Henderson State University, Oklahoma State University, the University of the Ozarks, Bryant High School, Conway High School, Eureka Springs High School, the Fort Smith School District, Liberty Bell Middle School (Tenn.) and Russellville High School.

The members of the 2019 Arkansas Governor’s School faculty are:

  • John Anglin (mathematics)
  • Dr. David Blanks (area II)
  • Adam Broyles (area III)
  • Mark Burgh (area III)
  • Dr. Nate Chapman (social science)
  • Korey Davis (area III)
  • Dr. Rick Dimond (instrumental music)
  • Chance Duncan (natural science)
  • Dr. David Eshelman (drama)
  • Dr. Sarah Gordon (area II)
  • Jasmine Greer (area III)
  • Dr. Jacob Grosskopf (natural science)
  • Dr. Caroline Hackerott (area III)
  • Dr. Patrick Hagge (social science)
  • Dr. Christopher Harris (choral music)
  • Dr. Emily Hoffman (area III)
  • Dr. Latasha Holt (area II)
  • Dr. Sean Huss (area III coordinator)
  • Dr. Alexis Johnson (area II)
  • Dr. Anthony Lee (English/language)
  • Hwaju Lee (music accompanist)
  • Kathleen Manus (English/language)
  • Dr. Aaron McArthur (area II)
  • John McGrew (visual arts)
  • Dr. Greg Michna (area II co-coordinator)
  • Dr. Julie Mikles-Schluterman (area III)
  • Dr. Matt Myers (mathematics)
  • Andrew Nolley (area II)
  • Dr. James Peck (social science)
  • Dr. Jeff Robertson (area I co-coordinator)
  • Dr. Tori Sharpe (area III)
  • Dr. Jordan Thibodeaux (area II co-coordinator)
  • Tim Trawick (natural science)
  • Dr. Luay Wahsheh (cybersecurity)
  • Dr. Dan Warwick (area II)
  • Dr. Jeff Woods (area I co-coordinator)

Dr. Robin Lasey is serving as director of AGS at Arkansas Tech.

Additional instruction will be provided by five impact speakers, each of whom will offer an address to the AGS participants.

Impact speakers at the 40th Arkansas Governor’s School will be:

  • Luke Dormehl, technology journalist, author and public speaker
  • Jennifer Earl, professor of sociology, government and public policy, University of Arizona
  • Steve Fryer, president, CX Opportunity LLC
  • Asa Hutchinson, 46th governor of Arkansas
  • Anna Wexler, instructor, Department of Medical Ethics and Health Policy, Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania

Arkansas Tech University was selected by the Arkansas Board of Education on Sept. 13, 2018, to serve as the host for Arkansas Governor’s School from 2019 through 2021.

Founded in 1979 by Gov. Bill Clinton, Arkansas Governor’s School serves selected students from around the state during the summer before their senior year in high school. The 2019 Arkansas Governor’s School will conclude Aug. 3.

The Arkansas Department of Education Gifted and Talented Programs administrator supervises Arkansas Governor’s School with assistance from an advisory council appointed by the governor.

Access a list of participants in the 40th Arkansas Governor’s School.

Learn more about Arkansas Governor’s School.