Wilburn Honored for Service to Board

Dean Wilburn of Harrison, outgoing chairman of the Arkansas Tech University Board of Trustees, was recognized by Tech President Dr. Robert C. Brown during the board’s regular monthly meeting at the Ross Pendergraft Library and Technology Center on Thursday. Wilburn (photographed, right) received a plaque in appreciation of his decade of service to the Arkansas Tech Board of Trustees. Brown (photographed, left) also presented Wilburn and his wife, Kathy, with lifetime passes to intercollegiate athletics events at Arkansas Tech. Wilburn served on the Arkansas Tech Board of Trustees from 2001-2011. Enrollment at Arkansas Tech increased by 76 percent and the university constructed such facilities as Baswell Residence Hall, Nutt Residence Hall, the Chartwells Women’s Sports Complex and Rothwell Hall during his time on the board. Arkansas Tech also added a satellite campus in Ozark, purchased the Lake Point Conference Center, successfully executed its first-ever capital campaign, renovated Thone Stadium at Buerkle Field and began construction of the Baswell Techionery with guidance from Wilburn. A 1959 graduate of Arkansas Tech, Wilburn was a four-year letterman and a two-time All-Arkansas Intercollegiate Conference guard for the Wonder Boys basketball team. He was a member of the 1958 AIC champions and two NAIA National Tournament teams. After earning a Bachelor of Science degree in health and physical education from Tech, Wilburn was a coach and teacher for 12 years. He later worked as group marketing representative for Arkansas Blue Cross and Blue Shield before retiring in 1997.