Wagoner Named Hodges Scholarship Winner

Arkansas Tech University student Michaela Wagoner of Yellville is the recipient of the second annual Gary Hodges TAKAHIK Memorial Scholarship.

Wagoner (photographed, left) is majoring in recreation and park administration with an emphasis in natural resource management.

The namesake of the scholarship was a native of Yell County and 1974 graduate of Arkansas Tech. Hodges returned to his alma mater to serve as controller for 19 years before retiring in 2011. Hodges, who died in 2012, was a member of the Yell County Wildlife Federation and TAKAHIK River Valley Hikers.

Also present for the scholarship presentation were Dr. Mary Ann Rollans (center), TAKAHIK membership chair; and Danny Hale (right), TAKAHIK president.

For more information about donating to or applying for scholarships offered through the Arkansas Tech University Foundation, call (479) 968-0400 or visit www.atu.edu/givetotech/scholarships.php.