Vining Named WBCA All-American

Jenny Vining became the 15th All-American in the 33-year history of Arkansas Tech Golden Suns basketball when she was named to the 2010 State Farm NCAA Division II All-America team by the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association on Friday night.

Vining, a 5-foot-9 junior guard from Marshall, is averaging 17.5 points, 2.4 rebounds, 3.7 assists and 2.1 steals per game during the 2009-10 season.

She has established a new Arkansas Tech record for 3-pointers made in a season (116) and she ranks third in NCAA Division II women’s basketball in 3-pointers made per game (3.5) in 2009-10.

Vining has led the Golden Suns to a 31-2 overall record and a berth in the NCAA Division II Elite Eight in her first season at Arkansas Tech.

The Suns have captured the Gulf South Conference West Division title, the GSC Tournament championship and the NCAA South Region title so far this season.

By earning All-America status, Vining joins the following student-athletes on the Golden Suns’ list of all-time All-Americans: Sherry Raney (1980, 1981, 1982), Donna Brunson (1987, 1988), Lanell Dawson (1989, 1990), Cindi Patton (1989), Kala Cooley (1989), Amanda Hill (1991), Stephanie Strack (1992, 1993, 1994), Allison Setliff (1992, 1993, 1994), Dawn Grell (1993, 1994), Carin Pinion (1994), Kim Stephens (1996), Heather Campbell (1997), Jennifer Richardson (1998) and Amanda Grappe (2008, 2009).

Tech will face Franklin Pierce (31-1) at 2:30 p.m. Tuesday in the NCAA Division II Tournament national quarterfinals.

Franklin Pierce features Johannah Leedham, the all-time leading scorer in NCAA Division II women’s basketball history with 3,003 career points. Leedham was named NCAA Division II player of the year for the second time in the last three years on Friday night.