Field Receives Lifetime Award From KDP

Dr. Sherry Field, dean of the Arkansas Tech University College of Education and professor of curriculum and instruction, has been elected as one of the charter members in the new honorary Eleanor Roosevelt Chapter of Kappa Delta Pi.

Election into the lifetime honorary chapter is limited to 100 living members. Field will be formally inducted into the Eleanor Roosevelt Chapter of Kappa Delta Pi during the organization’s 49th biennial convocation Oct. 24-26 in Dallas, Texas.

According to Faye Snodgrass, executive director of Kappa Delta Pi, the Eleanor Roosevelt Chapter was established to “recognize men and women who have made significant contributions of service to the society and exemplified its ideals of excellence and education.”

Field has been a member of Kappa Delta Pi since 1989. She has served as chapter counselor for Kappa Delta Pi at three universities — the University of Colorado at Denver, the University of Georgia and the University of Texas at Austin. Field was vice president for Kappa Delta Pi International from 2002-04 and a charter recipient of the O.L. Davis Jr. Chapter Counselor of Distinction Award in 2009.

Field joined the Arkansas Tech faculty as professor of curriculum and instruction and dean of the College of Education on Sept. 1, 2012.

She previously served as associate dean for teacher education, student affairs and administration in the University of Texas at Austin College of Education.

Field holds a bachelor’s degree in elementary education from Texas Tech University, a Master of Education degree from Stephen F. Austin University and a Ph.D. in curriculum and instruction from the University of Texas at Austin.

A member of the University of Texas faculty from 2001-2012, Field was the Catherine Mae Parker Centennial Professor in Education on the Austin campus.

She has taught and served as an administrator in K-12 education in Arkansas and Texas. Her previous faculty appointments included stints at the University of Colorado-Denver and at the University of Georgia, where she earned a Glickman Fellowship in 2000.

Field is a former editor of Social Studies and the Young Learner and a former chair of the College and University Faculty Association Executive Board of the National Council for the Social Studies.

Speak Your Mind