Trustees Authorize Sale of Three ATU Facilities

Three properties owned by Arkansas Tech University in the city of Russellville will be put up for sale following action by the ATU Board of Trustees during its regularly scheduled meeting at the Ross Pendergraft Library and Technology Center on Thursday.

Two facilities that have been utilized by the university to house students — East Gate Apartments at 500 E. K St. and South Hall at 1710 West C Place — as well as an office and storage complex at 702 E. Fourth St. are included in the properties authorized for sale.

In other business on Thursday, the ATU Board of Trustees approved:

*awarding job order contracts to ECO, Flynco and Circle M Construction for one year with the possibility of extending the contract two or more years;

*awarding an on-call contract for environmental engineering services to Environmental Enterprise Group (EEG) of Russellville;

*awarding on-call contracts for engineering services to Crafton Tull of Russellville and Pettit and Pettit Consulting Engineers of Little Rock;

*a transfer of $153,718.80 from the boiler reserve account to replace the cooling tower in Ross Pendergraft Library and Technology Center;

*deletion of the Associate of Applied Science degree in culinary management, effective December 2018;

*letters of notification to create Certificates of Proficiency through the Ozark campus of ATU in the following disciplines: medical billing, medical coding, logistics management, phlebotomy and mobile applications;

*letters of notification to change the names of two Certificates of Proficiency at ATU-Ozark, one from allied health to health sciences and one from facilities maintenance to construction technology;

*a letter of notification creating Associate of Applied Science degrees in computer information technology and law enforcement at ATU-Ozark;

*a letter of notification deleting the options for computer information systems and law enforcement from the Associate of Applied Science degree in general technology at ATU-Ozark;

*authorization to utilize unappropriated funds from the ATU-Ozark bookstore to assist with annual operating costs for food service operations on the campus, not to exceed $10,000 per fiscal year;

*updates to the Arkansas Tech University Alumni Association Board of Directors organizational document;

*and continuation through Aug. 31, 2017, of an existing policy that states: “carrying of a concealed handgun by staff members in the buildings or on grounds owned or leased by Arkansas Tech University is expressly prohibited and notices described in section 5-73-306(19) shall be posted.”

In personnel matters, the ATU Board of Trustees approved the hiring of the following new, full-time faculty members for the 2017-18 academic year:

*Dr. Victor Agubra, assistant professor of mechanical engineering; Dr. Lee Cabell, head of the Department of Health and Physical Education and associate professor of health and physical education; Dr. Gregory Michna, assistant professor of history; Dr. James Peck, visiting assistant professor of art history and director of the ATU Museum; and Dr. Guolin Yi, assistant professor of history.

The board approved the employment of the following full-time staff members:

*Deidra Dillard, admissions officer, effective July 17, 2017; Dausen Duncan, admissions officer, effective March 17, 2017; Bryan Fisher, associate vice president for development, effective May 1, 2017; Robert Freeman, director of human resources, effective June 5, 2017; and Dr. Keegan Nichols, vice president for student services, effective June 26, 2017.

Trustees accepted the resignations of the following employees:

*Debra Fithen, director of corporate and foundation relations, effective May 12, 2017; Tara Granberry, coordinator of assignments and communications in the Office of Residence Life, effective May 4, 2017; Dr. Micah Hicks, assistant professor of English, effective July 7, 2017; Dr. Lucas Maxwell, assistant professor of agricultural education, effective Aug. 1, 2017; Dr. Jennifer Samson, assistant professor of psychology, effective July 6, 2017; and Roman Tubner, assistant women’s basketball coach, effective May 1, 2017.

The following employees were approved for retirement:

*Brenda Lauffart, visiting instructor of chemistry, effective May 13, 2017; and Dr. David Underwood, associate vice president for academic affairs and professor of education, effective June 30, 2017.