Theatre Students, Staff Member Honored

Four students and one staff member who contributed to the fall 2015 theatre production at Arkansas Tech University have been recognized by the Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival (KCACTF).

Actors Scarlett Fairclough of Danville, Skylar Wierman of England and Christina Williams of Cabot were nominated for the Irene Ryan Acting Scholarship for KCACTF Region 6 in recognition of their performances in “Crimes of the Heart” by Beth Henley, which was produced at Arkansas Tech in October 2015.

Their fellow Arkansas Tech student, Sawyer Rentfro of Russellville, earned a meritorious achievement award for lighting design.

Jenava Harris, technical supervisor for theatre arts in the Arkansas Tech Department of Communication and Journalism, received an award for meritorious achievement in set design.

“It is thrilling to have these talented individuals recognized for their hard work,” said Dr. David Eshelman, associate professor of communication and director of theatre at Arkansas Tech.

“Crimes of the Heart” was directed by Dr. Ardith Morris, professor of communication and theatre at Arkansas Tech. The production has been designated as a held production by KCACTF Region 6. The notification means that the show may be invited to a regional festival in San Angelo, Texas, in February.

Learn more about the Arkansas Tech Department of Communication and Journalism.