“The Body Project” This Week at Techionery

Arkansas Tech University Theatre will present “The Body Project” as its spring 2016 production at Techionery Theatre Feb. 25-27.

Performances will begin at 8 p.m. on Thursday, Feb. 25, Friday, Feb. 26, and Saturday, Feb. 27. Tickets ($8 general admission, $5 students) will be available at the door and will not be sold in advance.

Friday’s performance will include two American Sign Language interpreters who specialize in drama.

Dr. David J. Eshelman, associate professor of communication and director of Arkansas Tech Theatre, will direct the play. Each performance will last approximately 90 minutes.

“The Body Project” is a series of performances based around issues connected with the human body.

Eshelman describes “The Body Project” as “unusual because it is completely student-developed, with sketches and musical numbers through which the students can express their creativity to the fullest.”

Taylor Paulk of Little Rock led a committee that developed the sketches. The musical numbers were created by a group led by Caroline Fredensborg of Roskilde, Denmark. Wendy Camarillo of Russellville, Jordan Dunham of Russellville and Kaycee Lefler of Clinton were part of a group that brought the various scenes together to create a cohesive production.

Additional material contributors and cast members include Arkansas Tech students David Borengasser of Russellville, Morgan Cheramie of Farmington, Stefhanai Ford of Benton, Betsaeli Garcia of Clarksville, Jesse Griffiths of Bentonville, Armando Gutierrez of Rogers, Carson Hawkins of Clarksville, Jonathan Holland of Clarksville, Maddie Renfroe of Danville, Steffany Rhame of Farmington, Quazar Rone of El Dorado, Cheyenne Terry of Danville, Vanessa Villarreal of Clarksville, JaMarcus Walker of Lufkin, Texas, Hunter Weimann of El Paso and Tanner Williams of Pearcy.

Jenava Harris, technical supervisor for Arkansas Tech Theatre, designed the sets. Additional technical leadership was provided by students Robert Warner of Little Rock, sound designer and lighting co-designer; Jaylissa Hampton of Little Rock, costume designer; Caleb Elijah of Havana, projection and poster designer; and B. Jensen Hale and Jen Prichard, both of Russellville, puppet designers. Weimann is the other lighting co-designer.

For more information about the production, call the Arkansas Tech Department of Communication and Journalism at (479) 964-0890.