Tech Up for Several Awards on Wednesday

Arkansas Tech University will receive the inaugural Great American Conference All-Sports Trophy and several Tech student-athletes will have a chance to earn individual awards at the 2012 GAC Night of Champions on Wednesday, June 20.

The event will begin at 6:30 p.m. at Embassy Suites in Little Rock. Tickets for the dinner and awards are available to the public for $25.

Send e-mail to to reserve tickets.

Arkansas Tech earned the GAC All-Sports Trophy by accumulating 67.1 points through its conference finishes in 10 sports — baseball, men’s basketball, women’s basketball, women’s cross country, football, men’s golf, women’s golf, softball, women’s tennis and volleyball.

Second-place Harding University finished the 2011-12 academic year with 56.2 points.

Southwestern Oklahoma State University (3rd, 50.4 points), East Central University (4th, 50.2 points), Henderson State University (5th, 47.4 points), Ouachita Baptist University (6th, 45.2 points), Southeastern Oklahoma State University (7th, 42.5 points), the University of Arkansas at Monticello (8th, 35.2 points) and Southern Arkansas University (9th, 34.9 points) rounded out the final 2011-12 GAC All-Sports Trophy standings.

Included in Arkansas Tech’s run to the GAC All-Sports Trophy were league championships in volleyball, men’s basketball, women’s basketball and women’s tennis. Tech also had runner-up finishes in men’s golf and women’s golf.

Schools earned points toward the GAC All-Sports Trophy based upon their finish in all sports that are sponsored by six or more member institutions.

The regular season standings determined the points in sports with a round-robin schedule. The conference championship event determined the points in sports without a regular season format (women’s cross country, men’s golf and women’s golf).

Four Arkansas Tech student-athletes are nominated for individual awards that will be announced at the GAC Night of Champions.

Tech’s Johnie Davis and Mariel Alvarez are among those in the running for the GAC male and female athlete of the year awards.

Davis was a senior member of the Arkansas Tech men’s basketball program in 2011-12, while Alvarez was a senior on the Arkansas Tech women’s tennis team.

Click here to read more about the GAC male and female athlete of the year nominees.

Jake Denzer and Laura Farney of Arkansas Tech are among the nominees for the GAC male and female scholar-athlete of the year awards.

Denzer and Farney both completed their athletic eligibility during the 2011-12 academic year. Denzer earned four letters with the Arkansas Tech football program. Farney was a four-year letter winner with the Arkansas Tech volleyball program.

Click here to learn more about the GAC male and female scholar-athlete of the year nominees.

The 2011-12 academic year was the first season of competition in the Great American Conference, which was accepted as the 23rd NCAA Division II conference on March 9, 2011.

Click here to learn more about the Great American Conference.

Click here to learn more about Arkansas Tech Athletics.