Tech, U of O Sign Memo of Understanding

Arkansas Tech University President Dr. Robin E. Bowen and University of the Ozarks President Richard L. Dunsworth have signed a memorandum of understanding that will create an academic collaboration for the benefit of international students.

As result of the MOU, eligible U of O international undergraduate students will be conditionally admitted into the Arkansas Tech Master of Arts degree program in teaching English to speakers of other languages (TESOL).

The agreement was formalized during a meeting at Chambers Cafeteria in Russellville on Thursday, Aug. 25.

U of O international students with a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.0 may apply for conditional graduate admission at Arkansas Tech during their final semester of undergraduate coursework. Conditional acceptance may be granted in earlier semesters per approval from the head of the Arkansas Tech Department of English and World Languages and the dean of the Arkansas Tech Graduate College.

The MOU states that U of O students admitted to the Arkansas Tech Master of Arts in TESOL program will have the opportunity to complete the 30 graduate credits required for the degree in one calendar year.

“This agreement will benefit University of the Ozarks undergraduate international student recruitment efforts and support Arkansas Tech University graduate program enrollment,” reads a portion of the MOU signed by Bowen and Dunsworth.

Learn more about the Master of Arts degree in TESOL at Arkansas Tech.