Main content
Home Archived News Tech Students Honored at Leadership Gala

Tech Students Honored at Leadership Gala

Image of

The leadership efforts of dozens of Arkansas Tech students were recognized Tuesday evening during the Student Leadership Recognition Gala in the Young Ballroom. The annual event honors those students who serve in a leadership capacity at Arkansas Tech. Susie Nicholson, vice president for student services and university relations, said getting active in campus organizations yields long-term benefits for students. "You have learned how to strike a balance in your lives," said Nicholson. "You have learned to set goals, delegate duties and much more." Leaders from a variety of campus organizations including Greek Life, Residence Hall Association, Student Government Association, Student Activities Board, the Tech Spirit Squads and the Guiding Organization Leaders' Development Cabinet were recognized. Student leaders and organizations garnering special accolades included:

  • Sorority Model New Member– Caitlyn Beasley, Zeta Tau Alpha
  • Fraternity Model New Member– Kevin Hemphill, Sigma Pi
  • Greek Woman of the Year– Chloe Cox, Delta Zeta
  • Greek Man of the Year– Thomas Strahan, Sigma Phil Epsilon
  • Male Campus Recreation Employee– Dustin Kling
  • Female Campus Recreation Employee– Rhylie Gachot
  • Campus Recreation Top Female Performer– Meleah Reames
  • Campus Recreation Top Male Performer– Logan Patterson
  • GOLD Leader of the Year– Kevin Paletskih
  • SAB Volunteers of the Year– Glen Poole, Taylor Garrett
  • Outstanding Orientation Leaders– Andrea Sims, Rhylie Gachot, Amanda Thompson, Chloe Cox, Zach Tucker, Matt Hudson, Justine Lewandowski, Dustin Jones, Zander Johnson, Rebel Clay
  • Tech Cheer Spirit Award– Danielle Henderson
  • Golden Girls Spirit Award– Katie Dodd
  • Tech Cheer Most Improved– Sara Brians
  • Golden Girls Most Improved– Isabel Thoma
  • Tech Cheer MVP– Jasmine Mounce
  • Golden Girls MVP– Jessica Pate
  • SGA Senators of the Year– Caitlin Dean
  • Community Service Project of the Year– Fisheries and Wildlife Society for their efforts in cleaning area parks
  • Event/Program of the Year– Student Activities Board for Holiday Cards to Heroes
  • Charitable Fundraiser of the Year– Sigma Tau Delta for Equestrian Zone fundraiser
  • Most Improved Student Organization– Anthropology Club
  • Outstanding Student Organization– Enactus
  • Outstanding Student Organization Member– Katie Frazier
  • Outstanding Student Organization President– SAB Ashli Hotary
  • Outstanding Club and Organization Faculty Advisor– Dr. Linda Bean, Enactus
  • Outstanding Club and Organization Volunteer Advisor– Alyssa Carter, Delta Zeta
  • Male Green and Gold Spirit Award– William Axsom
  • Female Green and Gold Spirit Award– Andrea Sims