Tarver Named Vice Chair of State Commission

Arkansas Tech University faculty member Dr. H. Micheal Tarver was elected vice chair of the Arkansas History Commission during its Thursday, March 7, meeting at the MacArthur Museum of Arkansas Military History in Little Rock.

The Arkansas History Commission is administered by a seven-member board, appointed by the governor with the approval of the state senate. Commissioners serve staggered seven-year terms with one term expiring each January. Commissioners may be re-appointed. The Arkansas History Commission meets quarterly.

Tarver holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees from the University of Louisiana at Lafayette. He earned his Doctor of Philosophy degree from Bowling Green State University and has served on the ATU faculty since 2002.

He holds the faculty rank of professor of history.

Tarver previously served ATU as head of the Department of History and Political Science from 2002-09 and as dean of the College of Arts and Humanities from 2010-13 before returning to full-time classroom teaching.

Tarver received the J. William Fulbright Senior Scholar Award from the U.S. Department of State during the 1998-99 academic year, the Fulbright Alumni Initiative Award from the U.S. Department of State in 2001, the Fellowship Award from the Gilder-Lehrman Institute of American History in 2001, the Special Humanities Award from the Louisiana Endowment for the Humanities in 2002, the Faculty Award of Excellence in the scholarship category from ATU in 2007 and the Fulbright-Hayes Award from the U.S. Department of Education in 2008.

He was editor of the World History Association’s World History Bulletin from 2002-10.