Tarver, Gleason Receive Statewide Award

Arkansas Tech University Department of History and Political Science faculty members Dr. H. Micheal Tarver and Dr. M. Diane Gleason were named the co-recipients of the 2011 Friend of Social Studies Award from the Arkansas Council for the Social Studies (ACSS) during the Arkansas Curriculum Conference in Little Rock on Thursday, Nov. 3.

Tarver (photographed, right) and Gleason (photographed, left) were recognized for their work on the Arkansas Tech College of Arts and Humanities K-12 Initiative, an outreach program that connects interested public schools with the resources necessary to provide intensive content coverage.

Also photographed is Professor Susan Douglass of Georgetown University (middle), who was the guest speaker at the ACSS luncheon where Tarver and Gleason received their award.

“The K-12 initiative is a content-oriented program whose aim is to increase and enhance the level of partnership between higher education and the public schools while improving student learning, comprehension and written expression,” said Tarver. “This increased collegial relationship will be a great benefit to both the public school and college faculties by fostering a greater understanding of each other’s educational expertise, by further enriching the content depth of the course offerings and by fostering expanded opportunities for student learning.”

Tarver serves as dean of the Arkansas Tech College of Arts and Humanities and professor of history. He has been a member of the Arkansas Tech faculty since 2002.

Gleason is an assistant professor of history at Arkansas Tech. She had 22 years of teaching experience at the secondary level before joining the Arkansas Tech faculty in 2006.

“It is always a pleasure to work with our K-12 colleagues,” said Gleason, who is an alumna of Arkansas Tech. “This award acknowledges that the secondary school teachers appreciate our efforts.”

Click here to learn more about the Arkansas Tech Department of History and Political Science.