Phillips/Shaffer/Shaffer Win Golf Classic

The three-man scramble team of Todd Phillips, Jack Shaffer and Jake Shaffer posted a 17-under par score of 54 to win the 2010 Arkansas Tech Homecoming Golf Classic at Russellville Country Club on Friday.

The eventual tournament champions were on fire from the beginning on Friday. Phillips (photographed, left), Jack Shaffer (middle) and Jake Shaffer (right) began their round on No. 12 and made 10 birdies and two eagles in their first 12 holes. They finally made their first par of the day at the par-4 sixth hole.

Phillips/Shaffer/Shaffer made three birdies and three pars in their last six holes to seal a two-stroke victory.

The team of Randy Adkins, Beau Dollar and Neal Westbrook finished second with a 15-under 56, while the teams of Bobby Furnatter/Joey James/Steve Fox and Bryant Richardson/Bryan Fisher/Kyle Crafton shared third place with matching scores of 13-under 58.

Dusty Bonds, Clay Anderson and Adam Anderson fired a 12-under 59 and finished fifth.

Johnny Morgan, Johnny Johnston and Jamie Johnston won the second flight with a 62. Rick Pilkington, Steve Lunsford and Steve Fisher shot 66 to capture first place in the third flight.

Peter Pesnell and Ben Rothwell won closest to the hole competitions on No. 7 and No. 11, respectively. Jamie Johnston won the long drive contest on No. 10.

A full field of 36 teams and 108 golfers participated in the 2010 Arkansas Tech Homecoming Golf Classic. Proceeds from the annual event benefit the Arkansas Tech Alumni Association Scholarship fund.