Quaid, Fellow ATU Journalists Earn SPJ Honors

Arkansas Tech University’s Amber Quaid won first place for general news reporting in the 2018 Society of Professional Journalists Mark of Excellence Region 12 awards program.

Three more Tech students — Noah Delashaw, Matthew Emery and Ricci Logan — received finalist awards in the competition. Emery was recognized in the sports writing and sports column categories, while Delashaw and Logan earned accolades in the sports column category.

The award submissions were made through a cooperative effort by the ATU chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists and the Arka Tech student newspaper.

“The Tech chapter of SPJ is a small group of journalism students, but they are hard-working and well deserving of these awards,” said Megan Toland, assistant professor of journalism and Arkansas Tech SPJ advisor.

As a regional winner, Quaid (photographed) will advance to national SPJ Mark of Excellence competition.

“This recognition for our student journalists really speaks to the quality of the work being produced on a regular basis by The Arka Tech staff,” said Tommy Mumert, assistant professor of journalism and Arka Tech newspaper advisor. “It is additional proof that on an individual basis, we have student journalists who are as good as those on any other campus.”