Main content
Home Archived News Pennington Voted Professor of the Year

Pennington Voted Professor of the Year

Image of

Thomas Pennington has been elected by the Arkansas Tech University student body as the 2011-12 professor of the year.

The annual elections were conducted by the Student Government Association on April 18.

Other nominees included Dr. Jeff Robertson of the College of Natural and Applied Sciences, Dr. Sandra Smith of the College of Applied Science, Dr. Paola Gemme of the Graduate College, Dr. Kevin Mason of the College of Business, Dr. Mohamed Ibrahim of the College of Education and Dr. Cory Shaman of the College of Arts and Humanities.

Pennington, who holds the academic rank of assistant professor of legal studies, has served on the Arkansas Tech faculty since 1995. He also serves as associate vice president and legal counsel for the university.

A 1990 graduate of Arkansas Tech, Pennington earned his Juris Doctorate from the University of Arkansas in 1993.

This year marks the second time that the Arkansas Tech student body has elected Pennington professor of the year. He shared the honor with David Krueger in 2003-04.