Oswalt Wins 2018 Miss Tech Pageant

Madison Oswalt of Harrison was crowned the 63rd Miss Tech on Friday night during the 2018 Miss Arkansas Tech University Scholarship Pageant at Witherspoon Auditorium.

Daughter of Laurie and Ryan Oswalt, the 18-year old Arkansas Tech freshman captured the Kristen Hayes Dance Award, the Nona Dirksmeyer Memorial Award and the interview competition on her way to winning the Miss Tech crown. Her talent was a jazz dance to the tune of “Gimme, Gimme.”

“I am so completely honored to be Miss Arkansas Tech University,” said Oswalt, a pre-veterinary medicine major and member of the Golden Girls dance team. “I chose Tech because it was home. The moment I stepped off the bus for my first tour, I instantly felt at home. I am so humbled and honored to be a representative of this organization and this beautiful university.”

Oswalt was sponsored in the 2018 Miss Tech Pageant by Delta Zeta sorority. Her critical issue is “That’s Not Love.”

“It’s educating people about abusive relationships,” said Oswalt. “What I talk about are the warning signs of an unhealthy relationship. I hope to get more in touch with organizations at Arkansas Tech and be a voice for victims.”

Oswalt will represent ATU in the 2018 Miss Arkansas Pageant June 9-17 at Robinson Center Auditorium in Little Rock. It will mark her second consecutive Miss Arkansas appearance. She reached the event in 2017 as Miss Ozark Mountain.

Among the prizes that Oswalt receives as Miss Tech is a two-semester tuition scholarship at Arkansas Tech. In all, more than $25,000 in gifts and scholarships were awarded during the 2018 Miss Arkansas Tech Pageant.

Payton Marshall of Belleville (first runner-up), Anna Adams-King of Fort Smith (second runner-up), Danielle Duggan of De Queen (third runner-up) and Kaylee Lawrence of Bauxite (fourth runner-up) rounded out the top five among 12 contestants.

Other contestants in the 63rd Miss Tech Pageant were Lauren Branch of Russellville, Meagan Halcomb of Delight, Makayla King of Conway, Cierra Martin of Lavaca, McKinzy McGee of Mena, Haley Milam of Alma and Emily Torrealba of Arlington, Texas.