Organization Spotlight: Phi Alpha Theta


Phi Alpha Theta, the National History Honor Society, recently held a regional conference on the Arkansas Tech campus.

Four Arkansas Tech students submitted papers for review at the conference by a panel of professors representing colleges and universities throughout the state.

Graduate students John Hutto and Scott Tomlin and undergraduate students Regina Bates and Kent Butler represented Arkansas Tech’s Alpha Theta Gamma Chapter of Phi Alpha Theta at the event and competed for awards with nineteen students from seven Arkansas schools.

Phi Alpha Theta was established in 1921 at the University of Arkansas.

To become a member of the Arkansas Tech chapter, a student must complete 12 hours of history courses with a minimum 3.1 GPA in those courses and an overall GPA of 3.0.

Membership is not limited to history majors. Anyone interested in history and meets the membership requirements is invited to inquire.

For more information, interested students may contact Professor Dr. Tom Deblack at or Adjunct Professor Brenda Murray at, or stop by the Department of History office in Witherspoon 255.

Pictured left to right: Kent Butler, John Hutto, and Regina Bates