NSCS Adds New Members During Ceremony

Twenty-six Arkansas Tech University students participated in an induction ceremony for the National Society of Collegiate Scholars (NSCS) at the Doc Bryan Student Services Center Lecture Hall on Monday, Nov. 14.

NSCS nominees must be first or second-year college students who have a grade point average of 3.4 or higher at an institution with an active NSCS chapter.

Thomas Pennington, professor of legal studies, associate vice president and general counsel at Arkansas Tech, was the guest speaker at the induction ceremony.

Arkansas Tech NSCS honorees attending the induction ceremony on Nov. 14 included:

  • Marcos Aguilar
  • Christian Brown
  • Caroline Burnett
  • Hayley Clark
  • Rachel Cunningham
  • Akeisha Encinias
  • Kimberly Garcia
  • Travis Gardner
  • Emily Geels
  • Justin Gunderman
  • Malia Hernandez
  • Austin Janski
  • Samuel Leek
  • Brian Lehigh
  • Vicky Lopez
  • Edith Magdaleno
  • Alan Mejia
  • Erika Nava
  • Wyatt Norris
  • Naomi Rheingans
  • Shae Seaborn
  • Alechia Smith
  • Josye Smith
  • Natasha Stewart
  • Caitlen Topps
  • Eduardo Vasquez

Overall, the Arkansas Tech NSCS chapter inducted more than 50 new members during the fall 2016 semester.

For more information about the NSCS chapter at Arkansas Tech, contact Dr. Gabriel Adkins, associate professor of communication and NSCS advisor, at gadkins@atu.edu.