Nichols Honored by NASPA for Research Study

Dr. Keegan Nichols, vice president for student success at Arkansas Tech University, is part of a team of researchers that has been recognized by professional organization NASPA, Student Affairs Administrators in Higher Education.

Nichols, Dr. Lisa Baumgartner of Texas A&M University, Dr. Shannon Breske of the University of Missouri and Dr. Brett Bruner of Fort Hays State University co-authored a paper entitled “Paying it Forward: First Gen Latinas/a/o Students Sense of Responsibility.”

The paper received a 2017 NASPA Region IV West literature and research award.

A native of Vilonia, Nichols is in her first year as vice president for student services at ATU. She holds a Bachelor of Science in Education degree from the University of Central Arkansas, a Master of Science degree in college administration from the University of Central Missouri and a Doctor of Education degree in adult and higher education from Northern Illinois University.

Nichols was previously associate vice president for student affairs at Fort Hays State University from 2013-17 and vice president of student affairs at Colby Community College (Kan.) from 2010-13. She has additional experience working in student services at Northern Illinois University and Rockford College (Ill.).