NHS Recognizes Top Students for 2018-19

The Arkansas Tech University College of Natural and Health Sciences honored its top performing students from the 2018-19 academic year during an awards convocation at McEver Hall on April 26.

Faculty presenters during the ceremony included Jamie Dalton, instructor of biology; Dr. Mariusz Gajewski, associate professor of chemistry; Dr. Jeanine Myers, associate professor of mathematics and head of the ATU Department of Math; Dr. Tom Nupp, professor of wildlife science and director of the fisheries and wildlife science program; Dr. Jason Patton, associate professor of geology and head of the ATU Department of Physical Sciences; Dr. Hamed Shojaei, associate professor of physics; and Dr. Tsunemi Yamashita, professor of biology.

The following students were recognized during the ceremony:

Academic Excellence 4.0 GPA Awards Outstanding Biology Student
Mallory Heft

2019 Student Research Symposium
Madison Craig

Outstanding Wildlife Student
John Gadberry

Outstanding Fisheries Student
Dakota Nash

Outstanding Fisheries and Wildlife Graduate Student
Aaron Tormanen

Outstanding ATU Member, American Fisheries Society
Brandon Plunkett

Lake Dardanelle Big Bass Scholarship
Richard Atkinson

Quail Unlimited/Jim Ed McGee Scholarship
Caitlin Goldtrap

Yell County Wildlife Federation Scholarship
Noah Balkman and Ross Balkman

Most Outstanding Mathematics Education Student
River Gosvener

Most Outstanding Mathematics Student
Tanner Stewart

Fort Smith Geological Society Scholarship
Jessica Buenrostro

Richard Cohoon Endowed Field Camp Scholarship
Charles Williams

Geology Foundation Scholarship
Clayton Hamilton

Geology Senior Fellowship
Ria Mukherjee

American Chemical Society Analytical Chemistry Achievement Award
Brayden L. Rainwater

Biochemistry Achievement Award
Benjamin A. Quattlebaum

Freshman Chemistry Achievement Award
Zachary J. Embry

Outstanding Chemistry Teaching Assistant Award
Benjamin D. Justice

Chemistry Senior Fellowship
Charles Conkin and Benjamin A. Quattlebaum

Most Outstanding Chemistry Student (Dr. David R. Matayo Award)
Siddhi Patel

Physics Senior Fellowship
Winter Allen

Most Outstanding Physics Student
Baylee Landers