Main content
Home Archived News Robertson Appointed Dean

Robertson Appointed Dean

Image of

Dr. Jeff Robertson will take leadership of the Arkansas Tech University College of Natural and Health Sciences on July 1. 
Robertson (photographed), a 14-year veteran of the Arkansas Tech faculty and past recipient of the Arkansas Tech Faculty Award of Excellence in teaching, was appointed dean of the College of Natural and Health Sciences by the Tech Board of Trustees on Thursday.
In his new role, Robertson will have oversight of the biological sciences, mathematics, nursing and physical sciences departments at Arkansas Tech.
Robertson succeeds Dr. Richard Cohoon as dean of the college. Cohoon, a member of the Arkansas Tech faculty since 1960 and the longest-serving faculty member in the history of the institution, submitted a request in December 2010 to step down as dean and return to full-time teaching responsibilities as of July 1, 2011.
Cohoon served as dean of what is now known as the College of Natural and Health Sciences for the past 23 years.
Robertson joined the Arkansas Tech faculty as an assistant professor of astrophysics in 1997. He was promoted to associate professor and granted tenure in 2002, and he accepted his first administrative appointment three years later when he was appointed head of the Department of Physical Sciences. Robertson was promoted to professor in 2008.
A 1989 graduate of the University of Kansas, Robertson completed his undergraduate education with a double degree in physics and astronomy. He attained a Master of Science degree in astronomy from San Diego State University in 1991 and a Ph.D. in astrophysics from Indiana University in 1995.