Musser to Lead Dept. of Physical Sciences

Dr. James Musser, who has served as interim head of the Arkansas Tech University Department of Physical Sciences during the 2011-12 academic year, will assume that role on a permanent basis on July 1.

Musser (photographed) was appointed to the position by the Arkansas Tech Board of Trustees during its meeting on Thursday.

He succeeded Dr. Jeff Robertson, who become dean of the College of Natural and Health Sciences on July 1, 2011. Robertson served as head of the Department of Physical Sciences from 2005-2011.

Musser earned a Bachelor of Science degree in mathematics from West Texas State University in 1987. He attained a Ph.D. in physics from Texas A&M University in 2005 and joined the faculty at Arkansas Tech later that year.

The Arkansas Tech Board of Trustees promoted Musser to associate professor and granted him tenure in February 2011.