MOU Pledges Support for Leadership Minor

Three entities at Arkansas Tech University have developed and signed a memorandum of understanding (MOU) that outlines administrative oversight, programming, classroom instruction, student recruitment and advising for the ATU minor in leadership studies.

The MOU was signed by Dr. Linda Bean, dean of the ATU College of Education; Dr. Mary B. Gunter, chief of staff in the ATU Office of the President and chair of the Leadership Tech Governing Council; and Dr. Keegan Nichols, vice president for student affairs at ATU.

As a result, the ATU College of Education, Leadership Tech and the ATU Division of Student Affairs have agreed to ensure the success and sustainability of a minor that charts an 18-credit hour course for Arkansas Tech students to graduate with a credential in leadership.

Required courses to complete the minor focus on an introduction to leadership, ethical decision making in leadership roles, the development of leadership skills relative to group dynamics and a leadership internship. There are also six hours of electives within the ATU leadership studies minor.

“The goal of creating an interdisciplinary leadership program that is intertwined with the co-curricular experience is to equip Arkansas Tech graduates with knowledge and experiences so they may be better prepared to become leaders in both their professional careers and communities,” reads a portion of the ATU leadership minor MOU.

As part of the MOU, “formal leadership theories, skills and concepts” will be integrated into co-curricular programming offered through the ATU Department of Campus Life.

The MOU calls for an annual review of the leadership studies minor curriculum in order to ensure continued effectiveness.

Learn more about the ATU leadership studies minor.