Mason Wins 2017 Jim Ed McGee Award

Dr. Andrew N. Mason is the recipient of the 2017 Jim Ed McGee Award as the most outstanding graduate student at Arkansas Tech University.

A native of Russellville, Mason was presented with his award during the Arkansas Tech Graduate Council meeting at Tomlinson Hall on Tuesday, April 18.

Mason earned a Master of Science in Business Administration degree from Arkansas Tech in May 2016. He previously earned a Bachelor of Science degree in biology from ATU in 2010 and a Doctor of Pharmacy degree from the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences in 2014.

Returning to his alma mater to complete a master’s degree in business allowed Mason to advance in his career and gain a position in pharmacy management with Walmart Neighborhood Market in Bentonville.

“Having the degree helped me stand out and apart from the other people who were applying for the job,” said Mason, son of Beverly and Dr. Kevin Mason of Russellville. “It helped me get a job that I love. What I also like about it is, when you are within the Walmart system, there is so much room for growth. Having this degree will help me move up if and when I am ready for it.”

Dr. Mary B. Gunter, dean of the ATU Graduate College and College of Education, presented Mason with his award.

Nominees for the Jim Ed McGee Award must have completed their graduate course work with a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.75.

The award’s namesake — Dr. Jim Ed McGee — served as vice president for academic affairs at Arkansas Tech from 1973 until the time of his passing in fall 1992.

His service to Arkansas Tech before attaining the rank of vice president included time as associate professor of education, director of institutional research, director of institutional services and director of development and public relations.

McGee’s wife, Carolyn, assisted in the presentation of the award on Tuesday.

For more information about educational opportunities available through the Arkansas Tech Graduate College, visit or call (479) 968-0398.

Photographed (from left-to-right): Dr. Mary B. Gunter, Dr. Andrew N. Mason and Carolyn McGee.