Main content
Home Archived News Krueger Awarded Professor of the Year

Krueger Awarded Professor of the Year

Arkansas Tech faculty member and longtime professor at Arkansas Tech David Krueger has been named the 2009-10 Professor of the Year by the Student Government Association.

Krueger, associate professor of history, was awarded the honor during the SGA meeting on Wednesday.  The Student Government Association accepts nominations for the annual award, and it is voted on by members of the Arkansas Tech student body.

Krueger also received the award for the 2008-09 academic year, and this is the fourth time he has been recognized with the honor.

Dustin Parsons, SGA president, presented a plaque to Krueger and thanked him for his service to the university.

"Thank you so very much for this unexpected honor," added Krueger, who has served on the faculty for 50 years.  "I'm just so surprised.  This is such an honor, and it's one of the top honors I could receive.  To be recognized by the student body, means so much to me."

Krueger, who has announced his retirement at the conclusion of the 2009-10 academic year, praised the Student Government Association and Tech students upon receiving the award.

He added, "When I came to Arkansas Tech in 1960, I had the opportunity to get to know members of the student body.  The students were just good people, and I knew that I wanted to stay at a school like Arkansas Tech.  And I did stay for 50 years, but I will still put the Tech student body up against any other school's student body.  They really are the best."

Krueger will be one of three professors recognized during a retirement reception hosted by the College of Arts and Humanities on Thursday, April 29.  The reception is scheduled for 4-5 p.m. in the Witherspoon Building Lobby.