Journalism Students Selected to Intern

Eight Arkansas Tech University students have been selected to intern at various news outlets across Arkansas.

The journalism students were selected by three news companies through a competitive process and will serve as interns throughout the summer.

The following students have been selected to intern:

  • Breana Boone– KATV
  • Kayla Fletcher– KATV
  • Micah Hunter– KATV
  • Joshua Kelly– KATV
  • Gerald Xu– KATV
  • Jose Harber– KFSM
  • Kallie Gangluff– KTHV
  • Lauren Harrison– KTHV

Anthony Caton, interim head of the Department of Speech, Theatre and Journalism and director of broadcasting, says he is excited about the opportunity the students will have to gain first-hand knowledge about their chosen career field.

“These are competitive internships, and I am extremely proud of the students selected to represent Arkansas Tech,” adds Caton.  “During their summer internships the students will have the opportunity to work directly with reporters, anchors and producers to gain better insight into the field of journalism.  I know these students will represent the university well as they continue their studies in a professional environment.”

Learn more about the Department of Speech, Theatre and Journalism at Arkansas Tech.

Throughout the summer, will feature students who are interning.  If you know of a student interning this summer, be sure to tell ArkansasTechNews about it here, and the student could also be featured on the site.