Honey Named Biologist of the Year

Jason Honey, a 2004 graduate of Arkansas Tech University, was named Arkansas Wildlife Federation Biologist of the Year during a ceremony at the state capitol in Little Rock this spring.

Gov. Mike Beebe presented Honey (photographed, far left in white shirt) with the Arkansas Wildlife Federation award in recognition of his efforts to establish and protect wildlife habitats in Arkansas.

Honey is an Arkansas Game and Fish Commission (AGFC) private lands biologist. He works out of Mayflower.

According to a news release from the AGFC, Honey “has been very active in providing technical assistance to landowners through the Acres for Wildlife program, along with assisting with the delivery of wildlife seed packets to county extension offices where landowners pick up their packets.

“He has not only promoted the AFW program,” continued the news release, “but used this program to communicate many other wildlife private lands programs available to assist landowners with financial incentives for their wildlife management actions.”

Honey earned a Bachelor of Science degree in fisheries and wildlife biology from Arkansas Tech. During his time as a student, he served an internship at the 4,000-acre Steve N. Wilson Raft Creek Bottoms Wildlife Management Area in White County.

Click here for more information about the fisheries and wildlife biology program at Arkansas Tech.