Historic Season Yields Awards for Wonder Boys

Arkansas Tech’s Mark Downey was named 2009-10 Gulf South Conference West Division coach of the year and three Wonder Boys players were recognized by the league in the GSC postseason men’s basketball awards announced on Tuesday.

Downey (photographed) earned his first GSC West coach of the year award aftere leading Arkansas Tech (26-1) to its first-ever GSC West Division title.

Senior guard Brandon Friedel became the first Wonder Boy to ever earn GSC West Division player of the year honors. He is averaging 15.1 points per game during the 2009-10 season. Friedel has made 84-of-189 3-point attempts this season (44 percent). He ranks eighth in the GSC in scoring and fourth in 3-point field goal percentage.

Friedel is joined on the 2009-10 All-GSC West Division first team by fellow Arkansas Tech players Laithe Massey and Renard Allen.

Massey, a junior from Heber Springs, averages 9.9 points per game. He leads the GSC in steals (1.96 per game) and he ranks fifth in the league in assists (3.96 per game).

Allen, a senior from New Orleans, La., is averaging 11.6 points and 4.4 rebounds per game.

Click here to view the complete 2009-10 All-GSC men’s basketball release from the league office.

The Wonder Boys will face West Georgia at 2:45 p.m. Friday in the first round of the GSC Tournament at the DeSoto Civic Center in Southaven, Miss.

Russellville radio station KWKK 100.9 FM and www.athletics.atu.edu will have live play-by-play coverage.