Guitar Ensemble Says Farewell to Director

Dr. Deborah Barber, a member of the Arkansas Tech University music faculty since 2002, will direct the ATU Guitar Ensemble for the final time before her retirement from the university during a performance on Saturday, April 28.

The concert will begin at 7:30 p.m. in Witherspoon Auditorium, 407 West Q Street in Russellville. Admission will be free and open to the public.

Barber holds the faculty rank of associate professor of music. Her retirement is effective May 12, 2018.

ATU Guitar Ensemble members for spring 2018 are Brian Wyatt, Jordan Ladyman, Alexis Harris, Makayla Deal, Cole Birmingham, Jordan Davis and Patricia Reece. The music of the Eagles, Arkansan Jimmy Driftwood and the Pointer Sisters are part of the program for Saturday night.

Former members of the ATU Guitar Ensemble will be invited to join the group on stage for the final few songs of the concert.

Visit to learn more about the ATU Department of Music.