Graduate Student Council Begins 2016-17

The Arkansas Tech University Graduate Student Council held its first meeting of the 2016-17 academic year on Tuesday, Aug. 30, at Crabaugh Hall.

According to the Arkansas Tech Graduate College, the purpose of the council is to “promote the success of graduate students through an active role and voice on Tech’s campus.”

Additionally, the members of the council are positioned as “advocates for graduate student concerns.”

The council was created by act of the Arkansas Tech Board of Trustees in December 2014.

Members of the 2016-17 Arkansas Tech Graduate Student Council are: (back row, left-to-right) Rebekah Hickman, Sean Coyle, Chelsea Johnson, Taylor Garrett, Jacob Martin and Andrew Porterfield; (front row, left-to-right) Suliana Scarborough, Shirley Shao, Karen Ricketts, Zach Moran, Cynthia Esiaka and Rachel Roberts.

The Arkansas Tech Graduate Student Council meets monthly during the academic year. The council is charged with the task of proposing and/or implementing a project, process or initiative that will improve graduate student visibility, access to resources or help Tech’s overall graduate community during the spring semester of each academic year.

Dr. Chris Giroir, interim associate dean of the Graduate College, and Sarah Bradberry, director of graduate support services, advise the council.

To learn more about the GSC, send e-mail to or