George, Hawkins Earn ASBTDC Awards

Two members of the staff for the Arkansas Small Business and Technology Development Center regional office at Arkansas Tech University have earned statewide recognition for their performance and service to small businesses in 2017.

Nathan George, director of the ASBTDC regional office at ATU, earned a place in the $10 Million Club for a second consecutive year. Ronda Hawkins, training specialist and business consultant for the ASBTDC regional office at ATU, qualified for the $5 Million Club for the first time.

The awards are based upon the cumulative dollar value of loans and other forms of capital that ASBTDC staff members assist small businesses in obtaining during a calendar year.

Hawkins was also presented with a sales award in recognition of her performance in assisting small businesses increase their revenue.

“Congratulations to Nathan and Ronda on these well-deserved honors that reflect the excellent service the Arkansas Tech center provides to local small businesses,” said Laura Fine, ASBTDC state director.

Funded in part through a cooperative agreement with the Small Business Administration through a partnership with the University of Arkansas at Little Rock College of Business and other institutions of higher education, the ASBTDC offers consulting, training and market research to Arkansas small businesses. Assisting with every aspect of business creation, management and operation, the ASBTDC serves new, existing and technology-based businesses statewide. To learn more, visit

Located in Rothwell Hall at 106 West O Street in Russellville, the Arkansas Tech office serves entrepreneurs in nine counties: Conway, Crawford, Franklin, Johnson, Logan, Pope, Scott, Sebastian and Yell.

Call (479) 356-2067 or visit for more information about the ASBTDC regional office at ATU.