Four From ATU to Compete at Miss Arkansas

Four Arkansas Tech University students are among a field of 44 contestants who will vie for the title of Miss Arkansas 2018 at Robinson Auditorium in Little Rock June 10-16.

Miss Arkansas is an official preliminary to the Miss America pageant.

ATU’s representatives in the 2018 Miss Arkansas Scholarship Pageant are (photographed, from left-to-right): Rebecca Ward of Clarksville, Miss Johnson County; Kelsey Stone of Russellville, Miss Natural State; Madison Oswalt of Harrison, Miss Arkansas Tech University; and Payton Marshall of Belleville, Miss Sweetheart of Arkansas.

All four contestants from ATU also qualified for the 2017 Miss Arkansas Scholarship Pageant. Stone won last year’s Buddy Coleman Memorial Overall Talent award, which carries with it a $2,500 scholarship.

Stone was also presented with a $1,000 non-finalist talent scholarship and she made the top 15 in the overall competition to collect an additional $1,500 in scholarship funds in 2017. She won last year’s Frances Wilson Overall Alpha Talent Award for top Miss Arkansas newcomer in talent and Miss Arkansas Overall Instrumentalist Award.

Read more about the 2018 Miss Arkansas contestants.