Floriani, Johnson Add All-Region Honors

Matt Johnson had one of the greatest seasons ever for an Arkansas Tech hitter in 2010. Josh Floriani had one of the greatest seasons ever for an Arkansas Tech pitcher in 2010. On Tuesday, they both added to their list of postseason accolades.

Johnson (photographed, top right) and Floriani (photographed, bottom right) were named to the 2010 National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) NCAA Division II All-South Region team in recognition of their performance for the Wonder Boys during their recently completed season.

Johnson, a junior center fielder from Grand Saline, Texas, hit .416 with four home runs and 41 runs batted in during the 2010 season.

A transfer from Tyler Junior College, Johnson established new Arkansas Tech single-season school records for base hits (84), runs scored (70) and stolen bases (36). He tied the single-season record for triples (6) and he set a new record for base hits in a game (6).

Johnson has been named to three different NCAA Division II All-South Region teams — Daktronics, NCBWA and the American Baseball Coaches Association — in the wake of his record-breaking campaign.

Floriani, a senior right-handed pitcher from Malvern, was 10-3 with a 4.89 earned run average in 2010. He became just the fourth Arkansas Tech pitcher to ever win 10 or more games in a season, and his 82 strikeouts in 2010 rank third in a season in Wonder Boys’ history.

Floriani finished his Arkansas Tech career as the program’s all-time leader in pitching appearances (82), and he ranks second in Tech history in career saves (13).

Floriani is also among the Wonder Boys’ career leaders in wins (T-5th, 17) and strikeouts (6th, 161).

Johnson and Floriani were both previously named to the 2010 All-Gulf South Conference West Division team.

Their play helped Arkansas Tech post one of its best baseball seasons ever in 2010. The Wonder Boys were 35-19 overall and 14-6 in GSC play.

Tech established a new school record for baseball wins in a season, it reached the GSC Tournament for the first time since 2007 and it won a game at the GSC Tournament for the first time since 2001.