Faculty Recognition Event Set for Wednesday

The Arkansas Tech University Office of Academic Affairs will host a recognition reception on Wednesday, April 23, in the Chambers Cafeteria West Dining Room. The reception will take place from 3-5 p.m. Faculty, staff and administrators as well as the family of the honorees are invited. The event is intended to show appreciation to Tech faculty members and staff who have reached milestones in their service to the university, to honor retirees and to spotlight faculty members who have performed exceptional work in their respective fields. The following faculty members among others will be honored during the reception: Professor Emeritus

  • Dr. Richard Cohoon, Distinguished Professor of Geology
  • Dr. John Cadle, Professor of Health and Physical Education
  • Dr. Lyman Harris, Professor and Director of Rehabilitation Science (retiring August 2014 after 40 years of service)
  • William A. Parton, Director of the Library (retiring October 2014 after 24 years of service)
  • Dr. Sammie Stephenson, Assistant Professor of Early Childhood Education (retiring May 2014 after 15 years of service)
  • Dr. D. Carl Harris, Assistant Professor of Chemistry (retiring May 2014 after seven years of service)
30 Years of Service
  • Dr. Carl Brucker, Professor of English
  • Dr. Annette Zakharian, Professor of French
  • Dr. Cynthia Jones, Associate Professor of Nursing
  • Dr. Kathy Pearson, Assistant Professor of Mathematics
25 Years of Service
  • Stan Apple, Instructor of Mechanical Engineering
  • Dr. Vrege Amirkhanian, Associate Professor of Mathematics
  • Dr. Michael Ritchie, Professor of English
  • Dr. Randy Kirkpatrick, Assistant Professor of Health and Physical Education
  • Tommy Mumert, Assistant Professor of Journalism
  • Frances Hager, Instructor of Secondary Education
20 Years of Service
  • Karen Cox, Associate Professor of Nursing
  • Dr. Scott Jordan, Associate Professor of Mathematics
  • Susan Jordan, Visiting Instructor of Mathematics
  • Dr. Jeff Mitchell, Professor of Philosophy
  • Dr. Jackie Paxton, Professor of Early Childhood Education