Main content
Home Archived News Emergency Management Honors Students

Emergency Management Honors Students

The Department of Emergency Management hosted an awards ceremony today to honor stand-out students for their dedication.

Faith Newton, photographed, was selected by the faculty and nominated by her peers to be the recipient of the Student of the Year Award.

Here is a list of informal awards presented, selected by student members of the International Association of Emergency Managers:

  • Mitigation Award – Autumn Kimble
  • Professionalism Award – Steven Lamm
  • Dedication Award – Joshua Standridge
  • Most Likely to Cause a Disaster – Ali Rye
  • Mother Hen Award – Mary Judd
  • Sunshine Award – Tine Price-Bateson
  • Most Likely to Survive a Zombie Apocalypse – Jaime Ott
  • Preparedness Award – Jessica Sanborn, Aaren Evans
  • Service Above Self Award – Jeffrey Pickartz
  • Balanced Student Excellence Award – Peter White
  • Service to the Department – Duo “Rudder” Wang, Steven Lamm, Mary Judd

Here is a list of formal awards presented to outstanding students:

  • Student of the Year Award - Faith Newton
  • Ed Leachman Scholarship Award -Jessica Sanborn
  • Graduating Graduate Assistants - Steven Lamm, Duo "Rudder" Wang

Additionally, students and colleagues took time to honor Mr. Ed Leachman at a retirement reception following the awards ceremony. Leachman has been a member of the Arkansas Tech faculty since 2004.

See additional photos from the event.