Main content
Home Archived News Debate Team Ends Successful Year at Nationals

Debate Team Ends Successful Year at Nationals

Image of

Eight members of the Arkansas Tech Debate Team concluded their season last weekend in Huntsville, Texas as they participated in the International Public Debate Association National Championship Tournament.

Students representing Tech at this tournament were Seth Fendley, Ashley Andrews, Hunter Rogers, Dustin Jackson, Sarah Plummer, Cheyenne Walls, Annie George and David Tuttle. Dr. Gabriel Adkins served as the head coach and Mrs. Tamara Adkins traveled with the team to serve as a judge.

The team earned seven awards and brought home six trophies from the national tournament. In the team debate portion of the tournament, the duo consisting of Hunter Rogers and Cheyenne Walls earned placement as octafinalists.

Also in the team portion of the tournament, Ashley Andrews brought home the eighth place speaker trophy. In the individual portion, students earned five trophies.

David Tuttle and Ashley Andrews both placed as double-octafinalists in the novice division, and Seth Fendley earned an octafinalist trophy in the novice division. Also in the individual novice division, Hunter Rogers won second place novice speaker and Ashley Andrews brought home the eighth place speaker trophy.

Additionally, Arkansas Tech earned several trophies for the season-long IPDA sweepstakes, including two overall team sweepstakes awards, fourth place for season-long team IPDA debate, and fourth place season-long in the novice division of IPDA.

Finally, Hunter Rogers earned eighth place in the novice division in the season-long sweepstakes.

The debate tournament was hosted by Sam Houston State University.

For more information about the Arkansas Tech Debate Team, contact the Director of ATU Debate and Forensics, Dr. Gabriel L. Adkins, at