Dawson Named Arkansas' Top Coach for 2010

Dave Dawson, who guided Arkansas Tech to a school-record 35 wins in his first season as the Wonder Boys’ head coach, was named 2010 Arkansas collegiate coach of the year by Natural State Baseball on Tuesday.

Arkansas Tech finished with an overall record of 35-19 and a Gulf South Conference West Division mark of 14-6 in 2010.

The Wonder Boys finished as GSC West Division runners-up, made their first appearance at the GSC Tournament since 2007 and won a postseason game for the first time since 2001.

Arkansas Tech’s Josh Floriani and Nick Makris also earned postseason accolades from Natural State Baseball.

Makris and Floriani were both named to the All-Arkansas team, which includes players from both NCAA Division I and NCAA Division II.

A junior third baseman from Little Rock, Makris hit .413 with six home runs and 56 runs batted in during the 2010 campaign.

Floriani, a senior right-handed pitcher from Malvern, was 10-3 with a 4.89 earned run average this season. He became just the fourth Arkansas Tech pitcher to ever win 10 or more games in a season.

Junior outfielder Matt Johnson and senior outfielder/pitcher Chad Wynn represented Arkansas Tech on Natural State Baseball’s All-Arkansas team as honorable mention selections.

Natural State Baseball is a blog that covers all levels of the game inside the state of Arkansas.

Click here to view the 2010 Natural State Baseball All-Arkansas team.