Main content
Home Archived News Competitive Winners Announced

Competitive Winners Announced

Winners of the 5th Annual Juried Student Competitive were announced yesterday in a formal ceremony at Norman Art Gallery.

Taking home first prize was Kelsey Gammill with “Mossy Me,” which was made from wood, moss and natural materials. She received $150.

Brian Shipman was awarded second place for “Bull Skulls” made from charcoal and conte crayon on paper. He received $100.

Travis Cody Johnson came in third place with his graphite pencil on paper work, “The Meeting.” He received $75.

Rick Brunson with “Typography” and Nick Peters with “Of the Sea” received an honorable mention. They received a $30 gift card. One was donated by Hobby Lobby and the other was donated by the Arkansas Tech Bookstore.

The juror was Dawn Holder, Assistant Professor of Art at the University of the Ozarks.

The show will be open to the public until Wednesday, Nov. 30. Admission is free.

The gallery is open 8:30 a.m.-noon and 1-4 p.m., Monday through Friday.

For more information, contact Neal Harrington, gallery director, at 479-964-3237.

Click here to see photos from the event and students’ work.