College of Business Honors Its Best

More than 75 students were recognized for their academic achievements and service to others during the 21st annual Arkansas Tech University College of Business Awards Program at the Chambers Cafeteria East Dining Hall on Tuesday.

Dr. Tom Tyler, dean of the Arkansas Tech College of Business, presented Brad McBride with the 2010 College of Business Leadership Award.

The honor is reserved for the student in the college that is judged to be the most outstanding in the areas of academic achievement, community service and participation in university activities.

McBride (photographed with Dr. Tyler) has served as president of Students In Free Enterprise and Sigma Phi Epsilon at Arkansas Tech. He has also served both of those organizations as vice president. A member of the Dean’s List in each of his semesters at Tech, McBride holds membership in the Presidential Leadership Cabinet, the Order of Omega and Beta Gamma Sigma. McBride was Arkansas Tech Greek man of the year in 2008-09 and a member of the Tech Loyalty Fund Class of 2010 committee. He received a university scholarship, a Simmons First Bank Scholarship and the Betty Jo Gober Scholarship.

Other top award winners on Tuesday included:

*Calvin Morrow of Perryville — Robert A. Young Outstanding Business Student Award (Highest GPA)

*John Narcum of Russellville — Gary K. Burris Outstanding Accounting Scholar

*Kayla New of Dover — College of Business Ambassador Award

*Molly Sneed of Charleston — National Business Education Award

*Lydia Grate of Atkins — Billy Ramsey SIFE Award

Click here to view more photographs from the 2010 College of Business Awards Program.