Main content
Home Archived News Burnett Appointed to Board of Trustees

Burnett Appointed to Board of Trustees

Image of

Gov. Mike Beebe has appointed Eric Burnett of Fort Smith to the Arkansas Tech University Board of Trustees.
Burnett (photographed, right, alongside Tech President Dr. Robert C. Brown) will serve on the board through Jan. 14, 2016.

He replaces Dean Wilburn of Harrison, who was chairman of the Tech Board of Trustees in 2010. Wilburn concluded a decade of service to the board on Jan. 14, 2011.

Burnett is the head boys’ basketball coach at Fort Smith Northside High School. He was named to that position in April 2010 after spending the previous five seasons in the same role at Springdale Har-Ber High School.

Burnett also has four years experience as the head boys’ basketball coach at Fort Smith Southside High School.

A 1994 graduate of Arkansas Tech, Burnett earned four letters as a member of the Wonder Boys basketball team.

Burnett is Arkansas Tech’s all-time leader in 3-point field goals made (354). He also ranks among the Wonder Boys’ career leaders in scoring (6th, 1,981 points), rebounding (5th, 775), free throws made (7th, 397), assists (8th, 343), steals (T-8th, 150) and field goals made (10th, 615).

He was named an NAIA All-American in 1993 and he was a two-time All-Arkansas Intercollegiate Conference selection. The Wonder Boys won 83 games and the 1993 AIC title during Burnett’s career.  
Gov. Beebe’s appointment of Burnett completes the five-member Arkansas Tech Board of Trustees for the 2011 calendar year.

Burnett joins fellow board members John Ed Chambers III of Danville (chairman), Leigh Whiteside of Russellville (vice chairman), Charles Blanchard of Russellville (secretary) and Tom Kennedy of Little Rock.