Board Approves Promotions and Tenure

Eleven members of the Arkansas Tech University faculty were promoted and eight faculty members were granted tenure during the Arkansas Tech Board of Trustees meeting at the Ross Pendergraft Library and Technology Center on Thursday.
Those promoted to the rank of professor on Thursday were:
*Dr. Cathy Baker, Department of Physical Sciences
*Dr. Franklin Hardcastle, Department of Physical Sciences
*Dr. Jackie L. Paxton, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
*Dr. Melinda Wilkins, Department of Biological Sciences

These three Tech faculty members were promoted to the rank of associate professor:

*Shelly Daily, Department of Nursing
*Dr. F. Robert Frasier, Department of Mechanical Engineering
*Dr. Terri McKown, Department of Nursing
Four other Tech faculty members were also promoted to associate professor and were additionally granted tenure on Thursday:
*Dr. Ruth Enoch, Department of Mathematics
*Dr. Nina M. Goza, Department of Accounting and Economics
*Dr. Richard Idhe, Department of Emergency Management
*Dr. James R. Walton, Department of Management and Marketing
Also granted tenure on Thursday were the following faculty members:
*Anthony Caton, Department of Speech, Theatre and Journalism
*Neal Harrington, Department of Art
*Dr. Timothy Howe, Department of Music
*Dr. Stephen C. Jones, Department of Management and Marketing
The promotions and the grants of tenure were performed in accordance with procedures developed by an independent faculty committee in spring 1995 and approved by the Tech Board of Trustees on June 15, 1995.
In other business on Thursday, the board approved:
*an organizational department change that moves the Center for Leadership and Learning from the College of Education to the Graduate College;
*an update to the signature card for the individuals authorized to conduct all necessary and proper banking transactions on behalf of Arkansas Tech-Ozark Campus;
*and a request from Arkansas Tech-Ozark Campus to apply for 30 growth pool positions as provided for by the Arkansas Department of Higher Education and the Arkansas Legislative Council.