Main content
Home Archived News Basketball Season Begins Friday Night

Basketball Season Begins Friday Night

Image of Arkansas Tech will conclude its stay in Bolivar by taking on classic host Southwest Baptist in men's action at 7:30 p.m. on Saturday, Nov. 9. That game can be heard over KWKK 100.9 FM and The Golden Suns are two-time defending regular season champions of the GAC. Arkansas Tech was 23-7 overall and 17-3 in the conference during the 2012-13 season. The Golden Suns won the 2013 GAC Tournament and earned a berth in the 2013 NCAA Division II Tournament. Only three players — junior forward Jae Tucker, sophomore guard Cara Neighbors and sophomore forward Caroline Eubanks — return for Arkansas Tech in 2013-14. The Golden Suns must replace 81 percent of their scoring from one year ago. Head coach Dave Wilbers welcomes 10 new players for 2013-14, including eight true freshmen. Wilbers has a career record of 151-32 in six seasons as the Arkansas Tech head women’s basketball coach. He has led the Golden Suns to four regular season conference championships, three postseason conference tournament titles, four NCAA Division II Tournament berths and two NCAA Elite Eight appearances. The Wonder Boys were 18-12 overall and 13-7 in the GAC in 2012-13. They earned a share of the GAC regular season title, reached the championship game of the GAC Tournament and earned a fifth consecutive berth in the NCAA Division II Tournament. Arkansas Tech is one of just seven NCAA Division II men’s basketball programs with an active streak of five or more consecutive appearances in the NCAA Tournament. Six regulars from the 2012-13 Wonder Boys — senior guards Kendell Pinkney, Bobby Hatchett and Jay Murphy; junior forwards Marshawn Arnold and Tyler Friedel; and senior center Charles Mells — return for the 2013-14 campaign. Also back are sophomore forward Nick Wayman, who missed the 2012-13 season due to injury; and junior guard Bryson Fletcher, who joined the team during the spring 2013 semester. Head coach Doug Karleskint and his staff have recruited 11 new players to join the mix for Arkansas Tech this winter. Karleskint has a career record of 69-24 in three seasons as the Wonder Boys’ head basketball coach. He has led Arkansas Tech to three consecutive regular season conference championships to go along with the league title they won in 2009-10 when Karleskint was assistant coach at Tech. The Wonder Boys’ current string of four straight regular season conference basketball titles is their longest such streak since legendary head coach Sam Hindsman guided Arkansas Tech to seven straight Arkansas Intercollegiate Conference crowns from 1949-55.  ]]>