Band of Distinction Sets 2023 Program, Leadership

Dr. Daniel Belongia and the Band of Distinction August 2023
Dr. Daniel A. Belongia (center), director of bands and professor of music at Arkansas Tech University, delivers instructions to the ATU marching band following a showcase performance at Depot Park in Russellville Downtown in August 2023.

The Arkansas Tech University marching band, “Arkansas’ Band of Distinction,” will debut its fall 2023 show during the Wonder Boys’ home football game on Saturday, Sept. 9.

Weather permitting, the band is scheduled to perform at approximately 5:15 p.m. during Party at the Plaza pre-game tailgating on Centennial Plaza and again inside Simmons Bank Field at Thone Stadium as part of the pre-game festivities ahead of a 6 p.m. kickoff.

At halftime, the ATU marching band will perform a show entitled “Stronger Than.” It includes “Caves” by Cody Fry, “The Impossible Dream” by Mitch Leigh and “Rocky Montage” by Vince DiCola.

Arkansas’ Band of Distinction appears at ATU home football games and a variety of parades and marching exhibitions.

Dr. Daniel A. Belongia, professor of music, is in his ninth year as director of bands at Arkansas Tech. Dr. Jon Nash is in his third year as ATU assistant professor of music and associate director of bands.

Learn more at and follow regular updates from Arkansas’ Band of Distinction at

Leadership personnel for the 2023 ATU marching band are listed below:

Director of Bands and Professor of Music
Dr. Daniel A. Belongia

Associate Director of Bands and Assistant Professor of Music
Dr. Jon Nash

Percussion Staff
Phil Parker

Color Guard Staff
Megan Garrett

Majorette Staff
Hannah Leigh Smith

Administrative Assistants
Bonnie Heathcock
Belinda Hilliard

The Voice of Arkansas’ Band of Distinction
Dr. Jon Clements

Student Staff

Drum Majors
Corrigan Burkett of Springdale, Zoe Covey-Smith of Cabot and Caleb Hopkins of Fort Smith

Teaching Assistant
Kaitlyn Rebidue of Cabot

Band Captains
Alex Louden of Little Rock and Eliza Smith of Austin

Section Leaders

Hannah Smith of Greenbrier

Mackenzie Murphy of Bryant and Rebecca Davis of Cabot

Mya Manes of Morrilton and Liz Barrett of Midlothian, Texas

Aaron Mack of Van Buren and Jacob Skaggs of Gentry

Jake Hodges of Russellville, Kris Campbell of Alma and Noah Pifer of Cabot

Dawson Schalk of Dover and Taylor Jacobs of Mount Ida

Preston Keeter of Springdale

Jake Castle of Greenwood and Lorenzo Castelano of Dardanelle

Jessie Hernandez of Berryville and Marlon King of Pangburn

Color Guard
Josie Ward of Van Buren and Kristen Shirley of Cabot

Properties/Uniform Manager
Dylan Owen of Lavaca

Equipment Crew Manager
Luke Walker of Benbrook, Texas

Band Librarian
Tess Butler of Lake Hamilton

Instrument Managers
Zoe Covey-Smith of Cabot and Mackenzie Murphy of Bryant