Awards Presented at Evening of Excellence

The Arkansas Tech University Division of Student Services recognized students, faculty and staff for their contributions to the activities beyond the classroom that enriched life on campus during the 2016-17 academic year with its annual Evening of Excellence at the Young Ballroom on Tuesday, April 25.

Top award winners included Patrick Kamerling, who captured the male Green and Gold Spirit Award, and Lindsey Triplett, who received the female Green and Gold Spirit Award. Kamerling is a senior from Fort Smith, while Triplett is a senior from Damascus.

Kevin Solomon, associate dean for campus life, garnered the Cupola Award for going “above and beyond to deliver the highest standard of service for students.”

ATU students Lauren Barthel, Erin Conrad, Mac Croff, Hannah Dampier, Cody Hardgrave, Kevin Hemphill, Aysia Jackson, Kelsey Jenkins, Camille Jordan Clark, Brooks Laffoon, Kyle McCabe and Brittney Smith earned the Service Excellence Award for logging 100 or more community service hours through theLINK during the 2016-17 academic year.

Maggie Hand, outgoing Student Government Association president, presented Matthew Smith, who was recently elected SGA president for 2017-18, with a gavel.

Additional awards announced on Tuesday night included:

Greek Life

  • Greek Chapter of Excellence: Zeta Tau Alpha
  • Greek Woman of the Year: Allison Holloway, Zeta Tau Alpha
  • Greek Man of the Year: Matthew Smith, Alpha Tau Omega
  • Outstanding New Sorority Member: Lydia Gates, Phi Mu
  • Outstanding New Fraternity Member: Kyle Howley, Alpha Tau Omega

Campus Recreation

  • Top Official: Alex Butler
  • Most Improved Official: Alli Cree
  • Male Player of the Year: Mitch Thompson
  • Female Player of the Year: Morgan Prescott
  • Male Memory Maker: Cody Underhill
  • Female Memory Maker: Tori Underhill

Residence Life

  • Community Builder Program of the Year: “Halloween Spectacular” by Mason Sims
  • Programmer of the Year: Makenzie Martin
  • Community Builder of the Year: Christian Kimberling
  • National Residence Hall Honorary Peer Resident Assistant of the Year: Mason Sims
  • Resident Assistant of the Year: Megan Bryant

GOLD Cabinet

  • GOLD Leader of the Year: Haley Owen

Spirit Squads

  • Most Spirited Member, Cheer: Sara Brians
  • Most Spirited Member, Dance: Blair Miller
  • Most Improved Member, Cheer: Paden Cook
  • Most Improved Member, Dance: Callie Purtell
  • Most Valuable Member, Cheer: Tristan Cagle-Trundale
  • Most Valuable Member, Dance: Raigan Purtle and Rebecca Hendrix
  • Leadership Award, Cheer: Sara Brians
  • Leadership Award, Dance: Raigan Purtle and Rebecca Hendrix

Student Government Association

  • Senator of the Year: Blake Hurley

Campus Life

  • Community Service Project of the Year: Because We Can
  • Charitable Fundraiser of the Year: SPECTRUM
  • Event/Program of the Year: Agriculture Ambassadors
  • Most Improved Student Organization: Alpha Gamma Rho
  • Outstanding Student Organization: Agriculture Club
  • Professor of the Year: Dr. Jim Collins
  • Organization Member of the Year: Carmen Skinner, SPECTRUM
  • Organization President of the Year: Emily Torrealba, Women in STEM
  • Organization Advisor of the Year: Dr. Lucas Maxwell, Alpha Gamma Rho and Agriculture Ambassadors

2017 Evening of Excellence | 4/25/17