ATU VP Chosen for Leadership Arkansas

Dr. Keegan Nichols, vice president for student affairs at Arkansas Tech University, has been selected for Leadership Arkansas Class XIII.

Nichols is one of more than 60 individuals from across the state selected for the 2018-19 edition of the program, which is operated by the Arkansas State Chamber of Commerce/Associated Industries of Arkansas.

Leadership Arkansas seeks to engage leaders from the Natural State with diverse backgrounds and careers. According to Leadership Arkansas, the nine-month class consisting of nine multi-day sessions in different locations around Arkansas provides “broad exposure to the many social, political, geographic and environmental complexities of the state; on-site demonstrations and tours; unique cultural experiences; insight into the people, places and history that influence public policies; and fun and casual settings which foster new relationships and camaraderie.”

A native of Vilonia, Nichols joined ATU as its vice president for student affairs on June 26, 2017. She holds a Bachelor of Science in Education degree from the University of Central Arkansas, a Master of Science degree in college administration from the University of Central Missouri and a Doctor of Education degree in adult and higher education from Northern Illinois University.

Nichols was previously associate vice president for student affairs at Fort Hays State University from 2013-17 and vice president of student affairs at Colby Community College (Kan.) from 2010-13. She has additional experience working in student services at Northern Illinois University and Rockford College (Ill.).

The underwriting sponsor for the 2018-2019 Leadership Arkansas program is The Citizens Bank of Batesville. The presenting sponsor is ARcare. Statewide program sponsors are Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas, Farm Credit Services of Arkansas, Nucor Steel Arkansas, Southwest Power Pool and Walmart.